The Invisible Web

Your Trip Into the Chapel Perilous

Yokai Attack and related Synchronicities

Posted by invizweb on October 22, 2008

Last Sunday I purchased the book Yokai Attack from the Borders at Penn Plaza. It is a very interesting book in itself with details on 42 plus yokai and their variations. Yokai, 妖怪, as pronounced Yaoguai in Chinese Mandarin (sort of that way in Cantonese also) are entities akin to “the good folk” i.e. fairies, ghouls, and elves to Nordic and Celtic culture, though some appear as bestial creatures. Within the pages of the book include: the ever popular Karakasa (umbrella ghost), Japan’s fastest growing legend Kuchisaki O-nna (the slit mouthed girl), and a frightening entity I never knew of before hand the O-dokuro (demonic skeleton). A profile would include the original Kanji or Katakana spelling, places of sightings (or attribution to where the legends begin), descriptions, and accounts themselves. A must for fans interested in Sino-Japanese legends and the Occult, as well as anime/video game fans.

(c) Kodansha International & Tatsuya Morino

(c) Kodansha International & Tatsuya Morino

**** 1/4

With that said, on that Sunday night right after I purchased the book, I heard whisperings in my sleep. The next night, I felt teeth clamped on my arm. The next two nights, despite it being Autumn in NYC, I was accosted by numerous mosquitoes, (whom old time Japanese believe were jealous spirits).

With that said, I am still fighting the flu and I dunno when it really began so take my word for a grain o salt.

Leave a Reply

 
